Where I’m From

ImageBy Brooke Crutchfield

I am from an old battered t-shirt, from Comfort Fit and Hanes.
I am from the unexpired mounds of canned soup and the cereal with the catchy jingle.

I am from Tom and Jerry, the Price is Right, and Bedlam and the Red River Rivalry.
I am from “Save the cheerleader, save the world,” and Lie to Me, from berries and cream from a little Darth Vader with remote start and from a pug with a craving for Doritos.

I am from 9 o’clock news and the lack of a television and the educated hearsay of classmates.
From never watch a Scooby-Doo alone at night and always keep a handy-dandy notepad for emergency reminders. I am from Oklahoma, Choctaw, France and Germany, from Spalding volleyballs and homemade hamburgers on Sunday.

I am from Joe’s Catfish, the small comfortable catfish restaurant with the friendly waiters and home-style food.
From the very first concert to Dixie Chicks in second grade with matching shirts with Velcro letters saying “We Love Dixie Chicks!” the getting dressed up in New York with the team and seeing Sister Act on Broadway.

I am from country music and Garth Brooks and We Shall Be Free and The River.
I am from the CD section of the store, and the endless ITunes library and blaring music in the car with the windows down and the heat on.

I am listening to a playlist designed for starting my day beginning with “Beautiful Day” by U2 and ending with 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman.

One thought on “Where I’m From”

  1. Beautiful Day by U2 is such an inspiring song to begin your day with, and the photo above looks like a wonderful way to close your day!

Leave a Reply

