A Vacation from Technology

I found it extremely difficult to find time to “spend 24 hours without my personal computer.” The week the assignment was given, I had four tests, two presentations, and three meetings while working about 20 hours at my job that was 15 minutes away. I decided to put off the assignment until my school week was over. Seeing that I was going to Galveston, Texas over the weekend, I decided to complete my digital abstinence there. I decided to completely stop using the Internet and any electronics (other than a camera) for all of Friday night, Saturday, and Sunday until about 2 p.m.

There was also an assignment in Honors Liberal Arts Seminar: Campus Legends in which we were told to create a “Miniature Museum” in an Altoids tin. I constructed my miniature museum on the beach at Galveston between 29th and 32nd Street on Seawall Boulevard. The assignment comes from Keri Smith’s book, “How To Be An Explorer of the World—Portable Art  Life Museum.” Each assignment is labeled as an individual exploration numbered 1-59. Exploration number nine had an alternate option labeled “Miniature Museum.”

IMG_2486

The combination of the two assignments made me feel extremely connected to the concept of living in the ‘ here and now.’  It forced me to stop, step back, and smell the roses. In this case, listen to the ocean and feel the cold winter sand between my toes. To simply observe the world for the purpose of observing. Technology makes me feel too wrapped up in things that don’t necessarily concern me. There is so much to be distracted by on the Internet or on a phone. Technology can be a complete waste of time or a vital form of communication and channel of important information. It simply depends on how you prioritize your ventures with technology.

Getting away from it all is unimaginably refreshing. In order to get away and feel confident in being able to give your brain a rest, you must prepare to relax. That may seem like a silly thing to say, but it is definitely something to consider. I had to complete all online assignments due Monday and check and double-check all meetings and upcoming obligations before retreating to my technological fast.

Nowadays, peoples’ minds are being stretched in so many different directions due to the accessibility of, not only the Internet, but technology itself. The use of personal computers and phones with Internet accessibility is commonly taken for granted. I, for one, undoubtedly take my laptop for granted.

Honestly, I don’t know how people manage their lives without a personal computer. I find myself using my own personal computer most when typing essays, posting on blogs, and other school related reasons. I would be fully satisfied if all I had to do was use it for composing Word documents. I would have loved to live in the day of the typewriter! Sadly, computers are now a necessity for numerous reasons. I find it annoying having to constantly check my email, numerous Facebook group updates, d2l postings, bank account, work schedule, OCU account, Google docs used for various classes and other online forms of communication. For me, it was extremely easy to quit cold turkey because I don’t really like using my phone, or checking my email, or getting on Facebook. It is something I could live without for a period of time. I doubt I could live without them for an extended period of time, but it is definitely revitalizing to simply go with the flow. To live as if a child would—not caught up in the social medias or emails, but as if nothing mattered other than the ‘here and now.’

2 thoughts on “A Vacation from Technology”

Leave a Reply

