ZE FINAL BLOGFOLIO

This semester has been quite the eye opener. Honors Composition II: Writing in Many Media has exposed me to such a wide range of digital platforms. Before this class, I had heard the word “blog” only in passing. Honestly, I thought blogs were for hippies and lonely people. Now, I have a blog of my own; a living, changing entity where I can express my thoughts, concerns, ideas, and beliefs. I have composed posts for each given assignment and more. I labeled the assigned posts “Apportioned Posts,” while my others are in “Rambling.” I am now well versed in WordPress and am able to navigate my and other blogs very fluently. Having written over 4,500 words this semester, my blog posts have become very connected with my personality and the way I think. I am a very visual person and tent to incorporate that into my writing. I am also a very inquisitive person and like to know the exact answer to everything, which often times leads to more questions than answers.

Descriptions are something I commonly use in my writing. I try to individualize each item in a list so that the reader doesn’t simply read through them thoughtlessly. In my post, “The Barnacle” in OCU Campus Legends blog, I wrote in sot of poem format. Instead of saying ‘I collected this, this, this, this, and that,’ I tried to create a vague image of my objects. Arranging them in fragments was more effective and it flowed. The closing statement was meant to inspire the reader. I wanted to leave readers with something to remember—something to try themselves. I wanted them to think, “Ya, Smith is right, everything is interesting. Brooke’s mini-museum proved that!” In rough drafts of my posts, I tend to sometimes put too much context into my writing and, in an effort to condense the piece, I delete the context and skip to the point. That leaves the reader confused. In this post, I should have elaborated on the assignment in order to inform the reader why I was conducting this “exploration.” I have learned that even if my work gets lengthy, it is better to be thorough than unclear.

Questions play a leading role in my writing. That is elaborately seen in my post “Looping Thoughts.” I tend to take a thought and run with it. I address every aspect of a thought, but then loop back around and ask myself, “does this matter?” This is an accurate depiction of how I think. My thoughts are often plagued by questions. If I find an answer to one question, it immediately leads me to ask another. When I can channel the questions I ask myself, sometimes it can be rather insightful. As seen in “Primed and Coated,” my looping thoughts led me to the title of the post. These random insights are the meaning of college. To broaden the way we think as individuals. To open our minds to different perspectives and ideas.

Looking back to the very first real posting, I claimed my thoughts were vulnerable. This was demonstrated when our class was told to comment on a blog post by someone of whom we had never met. I can honestly say that the most intriguing experience with WordPress was when we were assigned to read and comment on the posts from Auburn’s Honors Composition II class. I read every single posting. After having thoroughly read and commented on one post, I was hooked. I continued to read each post and if something caught my eye or no one had commented on it, I sat and wrote a good, at least 200-word, mostly-edited, comment. This opened my eyes to the fact that what you say, online especially, has an impact on the portrayal of your personality. I was reading views of someone I had never met who was my own age and the same position as me. As I read certain posts, it occurred to me how close-minded some of the students were. Other posts brought about points I had never thought of, while others I completely disagreed with. I was extremely proud of my comment on Blog 24, What’s up with Digital Activism? by Grinning Sheepishly. I raised questions that I thought would help the author consider new perspectives. I really thought about this comment and wish he or she would have commented back. This inspired me to always reply if someone takes the time to comment on any of my posts. 

WordPress has opened a door I didn’t know existed. It has taught me how to express myself through words and how to communicate not only my thoughts, but my emotions through words. The blogging experience has been a good way of documenting my thoughts, that otherwise would disappear forever. 

Favorite Comment: On Twirling Thoughts Is it consuming my life?

I was able to completely relate to her post and other comments. It’s nice to know that other people are also human and are easily distracted by social media.

Most Inspirational Post: with a tender heart‘s post To This Day Project 

I actually started crying at one point when watching this video. Again, I could relate at some points and even shared my thoughts through my comment.

Two Strongest Posts: Intergenerational Computer Center and A Vacation from Technology

Both posts required a great deal of reflection. I had a phenomenal time with the kids at the ICC and I think that post did it justice. My vacation from technology was simply that. I loved writing about it because it was such a good experience.

Strongest Analytical Writing: Looping Thoughts

This was a confusing topic for me and required me to think about something I have never analyzed. Art. I am not a very artsy person, so this was challenging for me.

Best Usage of Visual Image to Enrich Writing: Positively Positive Thoughts On Thoughts

The image of the couple from the movie gives the post character. The picture is the epitome of the movie.

Best Usage of a Hyperlink: A Vacation from Technology

The hyperlink goes to another blog posting that explains my Miniature Museum. I think it was good to reference Miniature Museum within this post instead of explaining it again.

Most Intellectually Stretching Post: Learning How to Listen

This post required me to dig deeper in to something I found extremely hard to elaborate on. 

Leave a Reply

