Oh the places you’ll go…

It has been quite some time since I last blogged and I’m not sure I even remember how. The past week I have been writing in a journal so hopefully, for everyone’s sake, I’ll get back into the swing of it rather quickly.


As another semester begins, I find myself in an vastly different environment. Though classes and meetings, assignments and readings will throw me back into a well-known routine, I cannot ignore the fact that I am in England for the semester. I AM IN ENGLAND. If five years ago you had asked where I would be my junior year of college, never in a million years would I have answered ‘Edge Hill University in Ormskirk, England.’ I am very schedule driven. After my first semester of college, I planned out my entire academic career allowing me to graduate a semester early. However, one of my favorite sayings is, “Want to make God laugh? Tell him your plans.” And that has most definitely proven true in my case.

My classes, or modules as they say here, start tomorrow and I. Am. Anxious, excited, relieved and  nervous. It is the most bittersweet first day of classes I have ever experienced. After arriving in Europe on September 11th, I have travelled to so many different places. I have fallen in love with my surroundings: the tangled canals of Amsterdam, the vivid and lush Holland countryside, the hustle and bustle of Manchester and the history of Liverpool, Chester and Conwy. Lest not forget the amazing and friendly community that make up Ormskirk and Edge Hill. I have met amazing people with phenomenal stories and made friends that I can relate to and learn from.

I feel as though I’m on a 100 day vacation. Each day is a blessing and I dare not take a second for granted. Here’s to an unforgettable adventure of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

